Sunday, March 16, 2025, 7 p.m.

Anna Katharina Wildermuth and Noémi Zipperling, violin; Caspar Vinzens, viola; Lukas Sieber, cello

6:00 PM – Pre-concert talk by Christopher Costanza, Cellist of the St. Lawrence String Quartet, Artist in Residence, Lecturer, Stanford University

7:00 PM – Concert

9:00 PM – Celebrate with a complimentary glass of wine and dessert!

About the Aris Quartet

Expressive, dynamic, spectacular – the Aris Quartet of Germany has been at home on international stages for the past fifteen years. With its unmistakable sound, it has long been known as one of the world’s top-rank chamber music ensembles. The musicians have performed in venues including London’s Wigmore Hall, the Elbphilharmonie Hamburg, the Herbst Theatre San Francisco, and the Philharmonie de Paris.

The Quartet’s choice of chamber music partners is exceptional: Christiane Karg, Tabea Zimmermann, Daniel Müller-Schott, Eckart Runge, Kit Armstrong and Nils Mönkemeyer. The ensemble also devotes itself to cross-genre projects, including with the jazz pianist Omer Klein. From the very beginning, the musicians have also placed a special focus on contemporary music. Composers such as Lukas Ligeti, Gerald Resch, Misato Mochizuki, and Pierre Dominique Ponnelle have entrusted the Quartet with world premieres of their works.

Founded in Frankfurt am Main in 2009, the Aris Quartet, one of whose most important mentors has been Günter Pichler (Alban Berg Quartet), continues to perform to this day in an unchanged format. The ensemble’s success is no coincidence: having earned numerous first prizes at prestigious competitions, the Aris Quartet quickly achieved its international breakthrough. The musicians have also been honored as ECHO Rising Stars by the European Concert Hall Organisation, were among the BBC’s New Generation Artists, and have won five awards at the ARD International Music Competition in Munich.


Felix Mendelssohn: String Quartet No. 1 in E-flat Major, Op. 12
Erwin Schulhoff: Five Pieces for String Quartet
Lukas Ligeti: String Quartet No. 4, “Neostasis”; dedicated to the Aris Quartet – US premiere
Fanny Mendelssohn Hensel: String Quartet in E-flat Major, H. 277


Single tickets will go on sale August 15.

Ticket Pricing: $62 (adult), $60 (senior, 62+) and $30 (age 30 and under). To purchase tickets, call the Box Office at (650) 762-1130 or order online.

Venue Details

Music at Kohl Mansion, 2750 Adeline Drive, Burlingame, CA.

All programs subject to change.


Felix Mendelssohn
String Quartet No. 1 in E-flat Major, Op. 12

Erwin Schulhoff
Five Pieces for String Quartet

Lukas Ligeti
String Quartet No. 4, “Neostasis”
– dedicated to the Aris Quartet; U.S. premiere

Fanny Mendelssohn Hensel
String Quartet in E-flat Major, H. 277

Upcoming Chamber Concerts