Sunday, January 11, 2015 – 7 pm – Kohl Début

In Music at Kohl’s early years, musicians from our world-renowned San Francisco Symphony and Opera orchestras regularly made guest appearances. We proudly bring back this tradition with an ensemble of six magnificent musicians including SFO Concertmaster Kay Stern, violinist Dawn Harms, cellist Emil Miland (an early MAKM favorite), oboist Janet Archibald, percussionist Mark Veregge and pianist Steven Bailey. Together, these great colleagues and friends have selected a program of beloved pieces exclusively for us, as well as the Bay Area premiere of The Despot’s Rage, the Slave’s Revenge for cello, piano and marimba, composed for Emil Miland by SF Opera Orchestra double- bassist Shinji Eshima. Mr. Eshima is enjoying widespread acclaim for his recent compositions and is currently at work on his second commissioned work for the San Francisco Ballet.


Oboe Quartet in F Major, K. 370

Shinji Eshima
The Despot’s Rage, The Slave’s Revenge for cello, piano and marimba (composed for Emil Miland)

Erich Korngold
Suite for two violins, cello, and piano left hand, Op. 23

Pre-Concert Talk with
Kai Christiansen
 at 6 pm.

Upcoming Chamber Concerts